Biography 2

Katharina Klewinghaus specialized in directing, screenwriting and producing during her University studies, for both fictional and documentary film. She also works in other industries such as video art/installation, theatre, television and promotional video. Her other activities include camerawork, editing and acting/performance. Her work is marked by a diversity of topics and shows courage in facing challenging issues, always finding new and refreshing perspectives.

Her interest in creative and artistic related areas started early, at the age of three, when she had her first ballet lesson, and which ten years later resulted in her admission to the renowned dance academy Folkwang Hochschule der Künste in Essen/Germany. In her final school years, she developed an increasing interest in film, as well as the wish to study abroad. Consequently, she decided to move to London where she graduated with “First Class Honours” as Bachelor in Film Studies in 2002. Two years later, she graduated as Master in Television and Video Production at the famous Media School in Bournemouth/England.

Her feature film debut took place after moving to Berlin, where she started working for the film production company Totho GmbH in 2005. Soon she was asked to write and direct the documentary Science of Horror, which had its national cinematic release on August 5th 2008. The film was highly acclaimed and celebrated by the German press.

Since then, she has been involved in various productions and now, after extensive international research travels, she is planning a new documentary film.

Katharina Klewinghaus

Biografie final

Katharina Klewinghaus spezialisierte sich bereits während ihres Studiums auf die Bereiche Regie und Drehbuch, sowohl für den dokumentarischen wie fiktiven Film. Über die filmische Arbeit hinaus, arbeitet sie auch in anderen Bereichen wie Videokunst, Fernsehen und Imagefilm. Auch sammelte sie Erfahrung in anderen Tätigkeitsfelder wie Produktion, Kamera, Schnitt und Schauspielerei/Performance. Ihre Arbeit zeichnet sich durch ein breites Spektrum an Themen aus, wobei sie sich auch stets den Herausforderungen anspruchsvoller und kontrovers diskutierter Inhalte stellt. Hierbei gelingt es ihr, neue und unerwartete Perspektiven zu präsentieren.

Ihr Interesse an kreativen und künstlerischen Bereichen begann schon mit ihrer ersten Ballettstunde im Alter von drei Jahren, und führte zehn Jahre später zur Aufnahme an der international anerkannten Tanzakademie Folkwang Hochschule der Künste in Essen, wo sie aufgrund ihrer großen Begabung die jüngste Bewerberin war, die die Schule bis dahin aufgenommen hatte. Ihr wachsendes Interesse für Film führte sie schließlich zum Studium nach London, wo sie 2002 als Bachelor in Film Studies mit Bestnote graduierte. Zwei Jahre später erlangte Sie den Titel Master in Television and Video Production  an der renommierten Media School in Bournemouth/England.

2005 zog es sie nach Berlin. Dort arbeitete sie für die Filmproduktionsfirma Totho GmbH, die ihr die Möglichkeit bot, die Dokumentation Science of Horror als Autorin und Regisseurin zu übernehmen. Ihr Langfilmdebüt hatte schließlich am 5. August 2008 Deutschlandpremiere und wurde von der Presse gefeiert.

Seitdem ist sie in viele verschiedene Produktionen involviert und plant derzeit, nach intensiven Recherchereisen, einen weiteren Dokumentarfilm.